Crime Scene / Death Investigation
Digital / Multimedia
Biology / DNA
Biology / DNA
Physics / Pattern Interpretation

SAAFS Forensic Science Fields

SAAFS adopted the Organization of Scientific Area Committees (OSAC) forensic science categories for the purposes of the recognition of the fields of practice of Members of SAAFS.

SAAFS recognises seven (7) categories or fields in Forensic Science.

As a SAAFS member, you can belong to one or more forensic science fields, according to your experience and qualifications in each recognised forensic science field.

To update your forensic science field/s, please update your profile at Members login.

Forensic Science

All 7 categories of forensic science fields also have subcategories.

The subcategories are determined by SAAFS, as appropriate for its members’ fields of experience and qualifications.

You can help us to develop new subcategories in your field. Please contact a representative of your science field at